Act now without delay and a few hundred dollars

This content has been archived. It may no longer be relevant

Boy do I feel special now.

Received this scam in my e-mail box today. I did a quick check on the inturwebs . Then I sent them a love note thanking them for putting so much effort into their scam and thinking I was dumb enough to fall for it. Then I politely asked them to die in a fire.

The scam is pretty sweet –
You get this email and think “OMG, someone is trying to steal my domain name, those dirty rat bastards”,  because humans are territorial by nature, so like any good “CEO” you respond back, which begins something like a Nigeran Stupid Lottery where they send you forms and you send back lots of money to register your domain with their foreign suffixes.  The catch is they own it, like forever and none of the contact info works so you can’t arrange to transfer it.

Except I has the power of Teh Googles. I looked online I discovered this has been going on a while and has cost some people and companies thousands of dollars.

To think, there are people who make way more than I ever will that fall for this everyday – or often enough that this continues.

From: Roy Chen
Date: Thu, 21 Oct 2010 01:23:52 +0800
Subject: Announcement – about ” montileestormer” dispute

(If you are not the person who is in charge of this, please forward to your CEO, as this is urgent, thank you.)

Dear CEO,

We are the department of registration service in China. We have something need to confirm with you. We formally received an application on October 19, 2010, one company which called “Papco Trading Co.,Ltd” is applying to register “montileestormer” as brand name and domain names as below :


After our initial checking, we found the brand name and these domain names being applied are as same as your company’s, so we need to get the confirmation from your company. If the aforesaid company is your business partner or your subsidiary company, please don’t reply us, we will approve the application automatically. If you have no any relationship with this company, please contact us within 5 workdays.
If out of the deadline, we will approve the application submitted by “Papco Trading Co.,Ltd” unconditionally.

Best Regards,

Roy Chen
Senior Consultant


Yeah – Papco Trading is really intersting in piggy-backing off of my name to sell whatever it is they sell (a search of Papco revealed nothing but an investment company) unless they’re planning to use Rob Callahan’s ploy of not posting nude pics of me but driving up traffice by the mere mention of it.  Clever, but I’m not registering a few grand for the off chance that it might be true.

Affiliate Disclosure I am a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for me to earn advertising fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated websites.
Just this fox. I'm a writer of horror and dark fantasy. I totally don't brag about it. The latter statement is an utter lie.
  • Michael
    October 22, 2010 - 8:52 am

    As a representative user of teh Interwebz I would like to thank you for the public service which you have done by exposing this fraudulent attempt to co-opt your website by an unscrupulous company.

    In fact, I am so impressed with your selfless act that I would like to reward you financially. All I need to transfer the funds are your bank account and routing numbers, your SSN, driver’s license or other official government identification number, mother’s maiden name, address, phone number, place of business, bra size (no wait, that’s available in the About section), shoe size…

But how do you really feel?

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

little black duck
Verified by MonsterInsights